First I want to say that the safest, most economical and easiest way to go Gluten Free is to eat foods that are naturally gluten free such as fruit, vegetables and plain meat.  Supplement this with some GF bread that is made in a Dedicated Gluten Free Facility or your own homemade bread.   Shop the perimeter of the grocery store and you will feel better and be safer.

However, I recognize that we all purchase food products that are processed by a food manufacturer. 

 

cheetos.png

 

Even chocolate bars are made in a food processing facility of some sort and I love chocolate!

Every time you go to the store and buy a processed food product from a chocolate bar to a can of chicken broth, you have to read the label to ensure the product is gluten free.  (Be especially careful of chicken broth because a lot of the time it does contain wheat). 

Unfortunately, food manufacturers are not required to label a food that contains gluten.  The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) requires food makers to list the top eight allergens whenever they are used in a food regulated by the Food and Drug Administration. Gluten is not one of the top allergens and is not required to be listed.

Under new laws, after August 2014, if a product is labeled "gluten free" it cannot contain more than 20 ppm gluten and should be safe to eat.  Twenty parts per million is 20 milligrams per 1 million milligrams (or 1 kilogram).  If a one-ounce slice of bread contains 20 ppm gluten, it contains approximately 1/2 milligram of gluten (0.56 milligrams).   That is basically a crumb.   While 20 ppm is a pretty universal standard, there are some experts who think even that is too much.  Source. 

Until then, and if a product is not labeled "gluten free," do not eat anything processed until you read the label to ensure that none of the possible sources of gluten are included such as wheat, barley, rye, malt, brewer’s yeast, modified food starch derived from wheat, dextrin derived from wheat and oats (unless specified as GF).    Click HERE for a more detailed list of ingredients that could contain gluten. 

Even if the product appears to not have any gluten ingredients, check with the food manufacturer by calling or email to verify:

  1. Is the product made in a dedicated GF facility? 
  2. If it is made in a facility shared with gluten-containing products, is it made on dedicated GF equipment?
  3. What steps did the manufacturer take to prevent cross-contamination?
  4. Is the product Certified GF by one of the recognized agencies and if not, does the manufacturer regularly tests to see if the product falls below the standard of 20 ppm?

 

When in doubt, Go Without!

 

Do not eat a food if you are unable to verify the ingredients and the risk of cross-contamination.

Why is this so tricky? 

 

Let’s Start with Easy Products – Those Labeled Gluten Free.

 

Effective August 5, 2014, food that is regulated by the FDA and labeled Gluten Free should be safe to eat if you are comfortable with the less than 20 ppm standard.

As of that date, manufacturers will be legally allowed to label a food "gluten-free," "free of gluten," "without gluten," and "no gluten," if it does not contain any of the following:   

  • An ingredient that is any type of wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains (“prohibited grains”)
  • An ingredient derived from these grains and that has not been processed to remove gluten
  • An ingredient derived from these grains (like wheat starch) that has been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more parts per million (ppm) gluten
  • 20 ppm or more gluten or 20 micrograms or more gluten per gram of food.

Foods such as bottled spring water, fruits and vegetables, and eggs can also be labeled "gluten-free" if they inherently don't have any gluten.

This final rule applies to all FDA-regulated foods, including dietary supplements, but does not apply to foods and beverages whose labeling is regulated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and/or the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB).   Source.  Foods regulated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) include egg products, poultry products, meat products, and mixed food products that generally contain more than three percent raw meat or two percent or more cooked meat or poultry (e.g. soups, chili, frozen entrees).  However, it’s estimated that 80 to 90% of these products voluntarily comply.  Source.  When in doubt, double check any ingredient list which includes starch, food starch, modified food starch and dextrin as these could be derived from wheat.  

 

What about food that is not labeled Gluten Free? 
 

Since food manufacturers are not required to label gluten, you must read the label to see if the food product contains one of the items mentioned yesterday such as wheat, barley, rye, malt, brewer’s yeast, modified food starch derived from wheat, dextrin derived from wheat and oats (unless specified as GF).    Click HERE for a more detailed list of ingredients that could contain gluten.

However, even foods that are naturally gluten free and do not have any apparent gluten ingredients can become contaminated with gluten when processed.

Even if the product does not contain gluten ingredients, the food still may not be GF due to cross-contamination that can occur during the manufacturing process. In theory, if something is clearly labeled and all of the ingredients appear to be gluten free, then the item should be safe to eat. Unfortunately, cross-contamination can be an issue that is not found on the label. Once I purchased sun-dried tomatoes and the ingredients were clearly all gluten free. Nevertheless, I emailed the manufacturer to double check. I received an answer back that they could not guarantee the item to be gluten free because of the manufacturing processes.

This may occur when machinery or equipment is inadequately cleaned after producing gluten-containing foods. Wheat flour can stay airborne for many hours and contaminate exposed preparation surfaces and utensils or uncovered GF products.

This is an individual choice, and we are very strictly gluten free, but as a general rule we do not eat food even if it does not include any gluten ingredients if it is manufactured in a facility that processes wheat or is made on the same lines as wheat, with the only exception being if the food is certified GF by one of the agencies listed below and sometimes if the food manufacturer is already in compliance with the new law and independently testing the food to contain less than 20 ppm. 


Beware that products labeled wheat free are not necessarily gluten free.

 

Because wheat is considered a top allergen, all foods that include wheat will be labeled as such. Food manufactures are not required to list gluten as an ingredient if it is not derived from wheat. Thus, a food product labeled wheat free may still contain gluten derived from spelt, rye or barley and therefore is not GF.

 

What about the Gluten Free Certification Programs?

 

Some companies seek certification from one of several gluten-free certification organizations. The Gluten Intolerance Group, the Celiac Sprue Association and the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness have developed their own certification programs to help consumers identify safe gluten free food.

The Gluten Free Certification Organization certifies products to be GF that test to contain less than 10 ppm of gluten.

This is an individual choice, but I generally trust products that have gone through the GFCO program and are labeled as such. Be warned, some food manufacturers will label a product as certified GF when it really is not. Always look for an official label from one of the Certification Organizations.

After reading all of this, do you understand why we say Naturally Gluten Free is the way to go? 

 

 

 


What is Gluten?

January 07, 2014

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, and derivatives of these grains. If you are on a gluten free diet, you must avoid any foods containing these grains or their derivatives.

Grains Not Allowed on the Gluten Free Diet include:

  • Wheat including but not limited to Bulgur, Coucous, Einkorn, Durum, Faro, Graham, Kamut, Matzo Meal, Semolina and Spelt.
  • Barley is a grain and also used to make malt flavoring. It can be listed as barley, barley malt or just malt. Manufactures are not required to list barley as an ingredient so, although rare, barley malt can be simply listed as "flavoring.”
  • Rye can be found in sandwich bread. It is common in German and Eastern European countries to use rye flour in bread with caraway seeds, and in pumpernickel bread.
  • Triticale is a grain created from the crossbreeding of wheat and rye. It can be used in bread, cereal manufacturing, brewing and distilling.


Some, but not all, Safe Grains and Starches that are Naturally Gluten Free:

The following grains are naturally gluten free and safe on the GF diet. Only choose grains and flours labeled gluten free. A small study published in 2010 tested 22 samples of inherently GF grains, seeds and flours for gluten contamination. None of the products tested were labeled GF. Of the samples tested, 32% were found to have gluten levels greater than the FDA proposed level of 20 ppm. The study was considered too small to make of determination of which grains are more or less likely to be contaminated but based on the study, only choose grains and flours labeled gluten free.

  • Amaranth – high protein and fiber
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat – has no relation to wheat.  Make sure it is not combined with wheat flour.
  • Corn (Maize)
  • Corn Starch
  • Flax
  • Millet
  • Quinoa - new research is showing that some quinoa may be contaminated by barley. Make sure the quinoa is labeled gluten free.
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Teff

Other Food/Ingredients that are Gluten Free in their Natural Unprocessed Form unless Otherwise Noted:

  • Beans
  • Butter
  • Canola oil
  • Cheese
  • Chickpeas
  • Citric acid – usually made from corn, beet sugar or molasses. Even if made from wheat, it is so highly processed that no gluten protein would remain.
  • Dextrin - a partially hydrolyzed starch that can be made from corn, potato, arrowroot, rice, tapioca or wheat. If made from wheat will be labeled as such and is not safe on the gluten free diet.
  • Dextrose - made from rice, corn or wheat starch but is so highly processed that it is gluten free regardless of the starch source. 
  • Eggs
  • Fruit
  • Glucose syrup
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein - if derived from wheat will be labeled as hydrolyzed wheat protein and is not gluten free.
  • Maltodextrin made in the USA is made from corn, potato or rice.
  • Meat (plain)
  • Mono and Diglycerides are fats made from oil such as soybean, cottonseed, sunflower and palm oil.
  • Nuts
  • Polenta
  • Sesame
  • Spices - pure spices are gluten free.
  • Vegetables
  • Whey – the liquid part of milk that is separated from solids when cheese is made. It is gluten free.

What about Oats? Oats do not contain gluten but are often contaminated with wheat so if you see them in an ingredient list you should not consider the product gluten free. The only exception is gluten free food specially processed with Certified Gluten Free Oats such as Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats. Current research indicates that pure uncontaminated oats consumed in moderation (up to 1/2 cup dry oats daily) are tolerated by most celiacs. Source Note that a very small percent of celiacs do react to pure, uncontaminated oats.   The cause for this reaction is not yet completely understood.  Consult your physician if you develop symptoms after eating oats labeled gluten free.

Children’s Art Supplies Not technically food, but don’t you remember the taste of Play-Doh?  Play-Doh contains wheat. 

Distilled alcoholic beverages Distilled products such as alcoholic beverages do not contain harmful gluten peptides. Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. For this reason, wines and hard liquor/distilled beverages are gluten free. Beers, ales and largers made from gluten containing grains are not distilled and therefore, are not gluten free. There are many gluten free beers in the United States that are made with a substitute for malted barley.

Vinegar Distillation successfully removes gluten from the vinegar. One exception is malt vinegar made from barley that is fermented but not distilled and thus not safe for those on a gluten free diet.

Are “flavorings” gluten free? Under the FALCPA a flavoring derived from wheat must be labeled as "flavor (wheat)" or "wheat" will be included in the “Contains Statement” at the end of the ingredient list. However, seasonings and seasoning mixes can contain gluten. There are several taco seasonings that contain gluten.
The trickier issue is barley, which can be used as a flavoring. Some companies voluntarily list barley or malt flavoring, or malt extract but they are not required to do so. While it appears that there are rare cases in which barley or malt are used and not labeled, when in doubt call the manufacturer.

Herbs and Spices Single ingredient herbs and spices are naturally Gluten Free.  Recently, there has been a little controversy over the GF status of spices after the Canadian Food Inspection Agency released a report, which indicated that some very specific spices might be cross contaminated with gluten.   Imported cloves and mace (a spice from the nutmeg plant), and domestic coriander had the highest gluten levels.

It is important to remember that even if a spice contains more than 20 ppm you use so little of it that the end result would be consumption of such a small amount that it probably does not pose a health risk.   To be safe, double check with the manufacturer on the processes for prevention of cross-contamination. 

Caramel color is generally made from corn, but it can be made from malt syrup although this appears to be rare. When in doubt, double-check or go without.

Soy sauce is usually fermented from wheat and is therefore not safe on a gluten free diet. However, there are a few GF brands including Organic Wheat Free Tamari Soy Sauce Tamari by San J and Little Soya.

Pharmaceuticals and Medications may contain gluten and there are currently no requirements for labeling gluten found in these items. Confirm the ingredients with your pharmacist or check Gluten Free Drugs.com a list that is maintained by a clinical pharmacist as a public service.

Cosmetics and Personal Hygene Anything that can be ingested through your mouth can be a source of gluten. This applies to, but is not limited to, Chap stick, lipstick and toothpaste. Play Doh contains gluten. Even bug spray and sunscreen can have gluten in them. Gluten cannot be absorbed through the skin, but how many times have you gotten sunscreen in your mouth?

Other Places where Gluten can be Hidden: Gluten can be hidden in many different places. Frequently overlooked foods that may contain gluten include:

  • Beer
  • Brewers’ yeast, when it is a by-product of beer, is not considered GF. 
  • Broth
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Breading and coating mixes
  • Communion wafers
  • Croutons
  • Energy Bars
  • Flour or cereal products
  • Fried foods – can be contaminated from being fried in oil that has fried something with gluten in it.
  • Imitation bacon
  • Imitation seafood
  • Licorice
  • Marinades
  • Matzo
  • Panko
  • Pastas
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, gravies
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soup and soup bases
  • Stuffing, dressing
  • Thickeners (Roux)
  • Vegetables in sauce
  • Veggie Burgers

 

 

 


 

I am starting the year with a series on Going Gluten Free to help those who are just starting the gluten free diet.  We have been GF for almost 9 years and I hope to pass along our cumulative knowledge to others who may just be starting out.  But before that series starts, I just need to talk about Celiac Disease and the gluten free diet. 

 

I try to stay neutral when it comes to all of the extra commentary regarding the gluten free diet and Celiac Disease.  I will be the first to challenge a food manufacturer that is mislabeling food or a restaurant that is doing something to make people sick.  But in general, I leave all of the moaning and complaining to others (and I actually get a little tired of the negativity myself).  

 

But lately “Gluten Free” has gotten a bad rap in the media.  An editor for the New York Times called “gluten free” one of the most “annoying, overused and abused words of the year.”  Source Some of you may have seen the Jimmy Kimmel show where he and Rachel Ray enjoy making fun of those of us on the gluten free diet.  Source

 

I just want to say that for those of us who have Celiac Disease, gluten free is not a joke. 

 

Celiac Disease is a life threatening, life changing, and lifelong autoimmune disease.  In lay terms, when someone with celiac disease eats gluten, that person’s body attacks itself, slowing destroying the lining of the small intestine.

 

On average for children, it takes 8 visits to the pediatrician before a correct diagnosis of Celiac Disease is made.  And only about 3 percent of those who have Celiac Disease have been diagnosed.   Source.

 

My own child threw up for an entire year before being diagnosed.  You can read about our journey to diagnosis here.  God only knows what my daughter’s health would have been like if the diagnosis would have taken any longer. 

 

Untreated Celiac Disease can lead to problems with malabsorption including “osteoporosis, tooth enamel defects, central and peripheral nervous system disease, pancreatic disease, internal hemorrhaging, organ disorders (gall bladder, liver, and spleen), and gynecological disorders. Untreated celiac disease has also been linked an increased risk of certain types of cancer, especially intestinal lymphoma.”  Source

 

The only cure for Celiac Disease is the gluten free diet.

 

The Gluten Free Diet is NOT A CHOICE! 

 

And believe me, if given the choice, my daughter would not choose to be gluten free. 

 

We have to eat this way, so we try to stay positive as much as possible.  And there have been positive changes to our lives because of our diet and I try very hard to focus on these and not the negatives because, as I said above, this diet is not a choice!  We have to accept it and live with it every single day for the rest of our lives. And it is easier to live gluten free if you try to be positive instead of constantly complaining and focusing on everything that you miss out on. 

 

Yes, we try to stay positive with our gluten free life.  But it is not easy!  

 

Here are just a few of the many things we deal with day in and day out to manage Celiac Disease.

 

  • Every time we leave the house for more than 5 hours we have to make sure we have food packed.

 

  • My daughter has had to take a sack lunch to school every day for the last nine years. 

 

  • Every sleepover, school trip, birthday party and camp has required packing a cooler with her own gluten free food.

 

  • She only gets to eat out, at most, once a week, and then it is only at restaurants we trust and she has to go through the whole “I have Celiac Disease so I cannot have gluten” and “no I am not part of the fad, I actually will get very sick if you happen to put a crouton in my salad” so please “use a clean bowl, clean gloves etc.” (Even after all of that, she was poisoned by a restaurant that was dumb enough to offer GF pasta but cooked it in water that was contaminated with wheat pasta.)

 

  • She has been told she could not go over to a friend’s house because it was too much of an inconvenience to accommodate her diet.

 

  • Let’s not even talk about the work involved in going on a “vacation.”

 

  • She has been called a “glutard.” 

 

So, Celiac Disease is not a joke, and those of us who are living gluten free for that reason are not laughing. 

 

If you think you have Celiac Disease, Go to the Doctor!

 

If you think you have Celiac Disease, GO TO A DOCTOR and get tested.  You cannot detect Celiac Disease once you start the gluten free diet!  You must be eating gluten in order for the Celiac Disease blood test to work. 

 

Celiac Disease may be present with absolutely no symptoms! 

 

It could also present itself in one of over 300 different symptoms. 

 

My daughter vomited for an entire year.  We have another friend whose daughter had a bad cough.  Personally, I suffered from anxiety, depression, constant stomach problems that the doctors diagnosed as ulcers, infertility, fatigue and anemia. 

 

Symptoms may or may not occur in the digestive system. For example, one person might have diarrhea and abdominal pain, while another person has infertility or anemia. Some people develop celiac disease as children, others as adults.

Common symptoms of celiac disease may include one or more of the following:

  • Frequent abdominal bloating and pain
  • Chronic diarrhea or constipation
  • Vomiting
  • Weight loss
  • Pale, foul-smelling stool
  • Iron-deficiency anemia that does not respond to iron therapy
  • Fatigue
  • Failure to thrive or short stature
  • Delayed puberty
  • Pain in the joints
  • Tingling numbness in the legs
  • Pale sores inside the mouth
  • A skin rash called dermatitis herpetiformis
  • Tooth discoloration or loss of enamel
  • Unexplained infertility or recurrent miscarriage
  • Osteopenia (mild) or osteoporosis (more serious bone density problem)
  • Peripheral neuropathy
  • Psychiatric disorders such as anxiety or depression

Source.

 

When you go to the doctor, ask for a series of blood tests called the Celiac Panel, which measures your immune response to gluten in the food you eat.  The blood test will include:

tTG-IgA or tissue transglutaminase-IgA
AGA-IgG or Antigliadin IgG
AGA-IgA or Antigliadin IGA
Total IGA

The presence of tTG antibodies is highly suggestive of CD, while AGA can be elevated also in cases of wheat allergy.   Source.   If the blood work is positive, then Celiac Disease may be confirmed with a biopsy of your small intestine. 

For more information, consult the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center at Cure Celiac Disease.org or the Center for Celiac Research and Treatment at Celiac Center.org.

 


 

Whipping up Gluten Free Appetizers does not have to be hard.  Just go with ingredients that are naturally Gluten Free like those in this recipe for Shrimp Cocktail. 

 

Shrimp Cocktail with Creamy-Spicy Green Onion Dipping Sauce

 

Shrimp_Cocktail_with_Creamy_Dipping_Sauce.png

by:  Whole Foods Market

Ingredients

 

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • A pinch of cayenne pepper, more to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon sherry vinegar (optional)
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 pound peeled and deveined cooked medium shrimp, well chilled

 

Preparation

 

  1. Put sour cream, lemon juice, oil, cayenne pepper, vinegar (if using), green onions, salt and pepper into a medium bowl and stir until well combined.
  2. Transfer to a small serving bowl, cover and chill for 30 minutes or overnight.
  3. When ready to serve, arrange shrimp on a platter along with sauce.  Serve immediately.

 

PRINTABLE VERSION

 

Pair this appetizer with a bottle of Roger d’Anoia Cava (Spain).

Roger_d’_Anoia _Cava.png

 

Lively effervescence with bright notes of green apple and pear, this sparkler is ripe and round with a touch of sweetness in the well-balanced finish. 

 

 

whole_foods_market.png

 

You can find all of the ingredients for this recipe and this bottle of wine at Whole Foods Market.  

 

 

 

 

Here is a Champagne Primer if you are looking for ideas on what kind of bubbly to serve New Years Eve. 

 

More Gluten Free Appetizer Recipes? 

 

Looking for other Gluten Free Appetizer recipes?  Visit this page and tryout our yummy Bacon-Wrapped Chicken Bites or how about some never-fail Artichoke Dip?

 

Happy New Year Everyone! 

 

 

 


Grab a treat at the Coffee and Specialty Bakery in Pike’s Place Market or lunch at Sport Restaurant and Bar, then head over to the Chihuly Exhibit at the Seattle Center.  Truly awe-inspiring.   Don’t forget your camera. 

 

Coffee & Specialty Bakery

 

Cofffe_Specialty_Bakery.jpg

1500 Western Ave.

Seattle, WA 98101

 (206) 280 - 7946

Dedicated GF Bakery

A grab and go, or stay and sit retail dedicated GF bakery.  Coffee and A Specialty Bakery offers GF baked goods including cinnamon rolls, Bundt cake, and Baguettes.     Fall Hours: Tues-Fri 8-6; Sat & Sun 10-6; Mondays-closed.

 

Sport Restaurant and Bar

 

Sport.png

140 4th Ave North, Suite 130

Seattle

(206) 404-7767

Sports Bar with traditional American fare located across from the Space Needle.  Featuring a full Gluten Free Menu that includes burgers and sandwiches on GF buns and GF pizza. 

Be sure and tell the waiter about your special diet needs.  NOTE they do not have a dedicated fryer so the fries are off limits for those strictly GF.  Even though the GF menu includes nachos and chips with guacamole, the chips are fried in the same oil that food containing gluten is fried in so they are off limits as well for anyone with celiac disease. 

 

Chihuly Garden and Glass

 

305 Harrison St
Seattle, WA 98109

 

chihuly_Seattle

chihuly_Seattle

chihuly_Seattle

chihuly_Seattle

chihuly_Seattle

chihuly_Seattle

chihuly_Seattle Photos by Luke Eppenauer

 ChihulyGardenAndGlass_Seattle-1850100-4869107-312-H.jpg

 

 

 

 


Merry Christmas

December 24, 2013

Epp_Family.jpg


I am excited to share this yummy recipe for Gluten Free Peanut Butter Blossoms.  I adapted it from the recipe right on the back of the bag of Hershey’s Milk Chocolate kisses.  These are so yummy!  Melt in your mouth goodness.  Enough said.  Let’s getting baking!

 

Recipe for GF Peanut Butter Blossoms

 

gluten_free_peanut_butter_blossoms.jpg

YIELDS: 20 Cookies

TIME: 60 minutes


Ingredients

 

  • 20  HERSHEY'S KISSES Brand Milk Chocolates
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I use Spectrum Organic Shortening)
  • 3/4 cup GF creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 2 Tablespoons non-fat dry milk
  • 2 teaspoons xanthan gum
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Additional granulated sugar

 

Preparation

 

  1. Beat shortening and peanut butter in large bowl until well blended.
  2. Add 1/3 cup granulated sugar and brown sugar; beat until fluffy.
  3. Add egg, milk and vanilla; beat well.
  4. Whisk together the brown rice flour, potato starch, cornstarch, dry milk and xanthan gum until it becomes one consistent flour. 
  5. Whisk in the baking soda and salt; gradually beat into peanut butter mixture.
  6. Cover and refrigerate for at least one hour.
  7. Heat oven to 375°F.
  8. Shape dough into 1-inch balls.  Roll in granulated sugar; place on ungreased cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
  9. Bake 8 to 9 minutes or until lightly browned.
  10. While cookies are baking, remove wrappers from chocolates.
  11. Immediately when the cookies come out of the oven, gently press a chocolate into center of each cookie; cookie will crack around edges.
  12. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.
  13. Cool completely.
  14. Makes about 20 cookies.

 

PRINTABLE VERSION

 




gluten_free_peanut_butter_blossoms.jpg

 

 

 



Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies

December 18, 2013

We all know gluten free baking can be tricky.  How many of you have had a cookie sheet full of beautiful GF cookies go in the oven, only to spread like pancakes and drizzle off the side of the cookie sheet?  That drives me crazy! 

I really don’t think this recipe can be messed up.  Super easy and tasty.

Make it extra special by drizzling some GF caramel sauce over the top or sprinkling with GF peppermint candies. 

 

Recipe for Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies

 

brownies.jpg

YIELDS 1 dozen brownies

TIME: 45 minutes

 
Ingredients

 

  • 5 oz. semisweet or bittersweet chocolate (use Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips for dairy free)
  • 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped  (use Sunspire Organic 100% Unsweetened Baking Bar)
  • 8 Tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into quarters (use 6 Tablespoons Earth Balance and 2 Tablespoons Coconut Oil for dairy free)
  • 3 Tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1¼ cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup GF Flour
  • If the GF flour does not contain xanthan gum, add 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum to the GF flour

 

Preparation

 

1.  Preheat the oven to 350° F and oil an 8-inch square baking dish.

2.  You can prepare the warm chocolate mix in two ways.  The traditional method would be in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of barely simmering water, melt the chocolate and butter (or butter alternative), stirring occasionally until smooth.  Whisk in the cocoa powder until smooth.  Set aside to cool.

The busy mom method is to add the two kinds of chocolate and butter (or butter alternative) in a microwave proof bowl and microwave 20 seconds, stir and microwave another 20 seconds.  Repeat if the chocolate is still not melted.  Then stir in the cocoa powder.

3.  In a medium bowl, combine the eggs, sugar, vanilla and salt; whisk until combined, about 15 seconds.  Stir in the warm chocolate mixture until incorporated.

4.  Stir in the GF flour (and xanthan gum if needed) until just combined.  

5.  Pour the mixture into the prepared pan and bounce it a couple of times on the counter to spread it evenly.  

6.  Bake for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a small amount of sticky crumbs clinging to it.  

Cool for a bit, but best served warm.

PRINTABLE VERSION

 

 

 


Gluten Free Party Mix

December 10, 2013

This is a great snack to make when you have a group of people coming over to your house who are non-GFers and you don’t want to spend the extra dollars on pricier GF food.    Everyone could eat it!  Actually everyone did eat it.  This party mix goes fast so make a double-batch!

 

Recipe for Gluten Free Party Mix 

 

party_mix.jpg

 

Gluten Free Party Mix is super easy to make.  The hardest part is sourcing the ingredients and I have done that for you:

 

Ingredients

 

 

  • 3 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

 

  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

 

  • 1 teaspoon GF garlic spice

 

  • 1/2 teaspoon GF onion spice

 

  • 4 ½ cups GF Corn Chex General Mills test it’s cereal to less than 20 ppm of gluten

General Mills “follows the FDA guidelines for a product being gluten free. We do clean the lines and we do test regularly."  If the cereal is not clearly labeled GF, then you should not consider it as such, as they state "if there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires."

  • 1 cup unsalted cashews
  • ½ cup raw almonds
  • 1 cup GF pretzels 

I use Glutino Pretzels – tested by manufacturer to less than 20 ppm gluten.

Omit for a dairy free party mix.  Cheetos are tested by the manufacturer to less than 20 ppm gluten.  You can also use Smart Puffs, which are certified Gluten Free. 

Produced in a dedicated Gluten Free Facility

 

Preparation

This is the easy part.

1.  Heat oven to 250 degrees F. 

2.  Melt butter in an 18-Inch Covered Oval Roaster in the oven. 

3.  Add the seasonings and mix well.

 

party_mix_melting.jpg

 

4.  Stir in remaining ingredients until evenly coated.  I made a double batch.

 

party_mix_1.jpg

 

5.  Bake one hour, stirring every 15 minutes. 

 PRINTABLE VERSION

Save


Green Bean Casserole

November 23, 2013