March 11, 2014
Come and join me at The Seattle Restaurant Development Summit on March 19th at the Triple Door.
March 06, 2014
I recently contacted Pacific Foods regarding the Gluten Free status of their products. I use the Chicken Broth, which is labeled gluten free, but wanted to know about cross-contamination.
March 02, 2014
United Airlines is elevating the inflight dining experience with the addition of new menu items, including gluten-free options for premium-cabin and United Economy customers.
February 11, 2014
January 30, 2014
Gluten Free Watchdog has released a statement that appears to be approved by the FDA, which clarifies that the new Gluten Free Labeling Laws will apply to restaurants.
January 25, 2014
The GFCO has issued a second Product Pull Back Notice this week for Boulder Canyon (Natural Foods). This time it is for the Malt Vinegar and Sea Salt, Wavy Potato Chips, Kettle Cooked in 100% Avocado Oil.
January 24, 2014
January 23, 2014
Dear subscribers to Gluten Free Watchdog,
If you or your patients eat Boulder Canyon chips (especially the malt vinegar and sea salt kettle chips) please read the ingredients list very carefully even if the product is labeled gluten-free or appears to be certified gluten-free.
Long story short, I was contacted about this particular product by a diligent subscriber. According to the website this product is listed as gluten-free yet it contains malt vinegar and malt extract. I wrongly assumed this was a website error. The manufacturer stated to me by phone, email, and on twitter that the product was certified and tested by GFCO. Another wonderful subscriber went to the store and took pictures showing the GFCO logo on the back of product packaging.
However, according to GFCO they do NOT certify this particular flavor. According to Boulder Canyon it was their understanding that the chips were certified by GFCO. Obviously there was a miscommunication somewhere. Both Boulder Canyon and GFCO are working to rectify the situation.
However, certification is NOT the real issue here. The issue is that the company represents this product (and others) as being gluten-free even though they contain malt ingredients. We want to be able to trust the gluten-free label and in most cases we can. But my recommendation is to remain vigilant. Continue to read ingredients lists.
It is true that the FDA’s final gluten-free labeling rule has confused the issue regarding “ingredients NOT processed to be gluten-free.” In the proposed rule malt was included as an example of this type of ingredient. In the final rule only wheat flour is included as an example. FDA is working on a proposed rule for fermented and hydrolyzed foods/ingredients. In the meantime, I have been advised by FDA that they still consider malt extract to be “an ingredient NOT processed to remove gluten” and therefore NOT allowed in foods labeled gluten-free. However, the situation is complicated when it comes to these types of ingredients.
If anything about this email does not make sense, please feel free to contact me.
Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
Owner/Founder Gluten Free Watchdog, LLC
October 28, 2013
October 16, 2013
This is a great week to try out Living Without magazine as it is Free Shipping Week!
October 13, 2013
October 08, 2013
Vote for us in the Best of Western Washington Food Blog contest.